News Archive

  • Student Spotlight - Graduating Seniors

    This student spotlight features our graduating seniors! Click to learn more about their future plans, as well as their favorite parts about the Mining Engineering Department.

  • 2014 Mining Awards Banquet

    Click to view details from the 2014 Mining Engineering Awards Banquet.

  • 2014 Mining Poems

    This year our department hosted our first mining poetry competition. The winner of this year's winner is Artem Simonyan! Click to read all of this year's entries.

  • Students Earn Free Custom Made Matterhorn Mining Boots

    Matterhorn sponsored a contest for Mining Engineering students at the U. Students participated in the contest by earning points through department involvement. The five students with the most points received a trip to Pennsylvania, custom made mining boots, and the opportunity to watch those custom boots be made in the Matterhorn factory.

  • $17,500 in Scholarships Awarded by SME to 7 Mining Engineering Students

    The Society of Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration awards 7 Mining Engineering students scholarships totaling $17,500.

  • Student Spotlight - Patrick Guild

    Our first student spotlight features Patrick Guild, a senior in the Mining Engineering Department.

  • SME Alumni, Faculty, and Student Reception

    The College of Mines and Earth Sciences invites you to come by our Alumni, Faculty, and Student Reception on Tuesday, February 25 from 5-7pm at the Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek.